The Ring Battery Doorbell 2K (the newest model, also sold as the Battery Doorbell 2nd Gen) is listed at C$79.99 on Amazon.ca at the time of writing and holds the #1 Best Seller spot in Doorbells & Chimes there. It is a wireless video doorbell with Retinal 2K video, up to 6x Enhanced Zoom and a built in rechargeable battery.

The Amazon.ca page shows 5K+ bought in the past month and a rating of 4.0 out of 5 from 433 ratings. Ring’s own US launch price for this model was $99.99, according to Tom’s Guide.

It combines a best seller ranking with a price below the US launch price. Tom’s Guide reported that Ring put the new battery doorbells on sale on March 25, 2026 and that this base model started at $99.99, so C$79.99 on Amazon.ca at the time of writing stands out.

It is also the cheapest battery model in the lineup. That matters for first time buyers, who often want a video doorbell without wiring.

Hand mounting the Ring Battery Doorbell on a front door frame
Photo: Ring

What are the specs?

From Ring’s Canadian product page:

  • Video: Retinal 2K (1920x1920) with up to 6x Enhanced Zoom
  • Field of view: 140 degrees horizontal, 140 degrees vertical and 173 degrees diagonal
  • Night vision: infrared, with illumination up to 6 m
  • Power: built in lithium ion battery charged by USB-C, or trickle charged from existing doorbell wiring (8 to 24 VAC) or solar
  • WiFi: 2.4 GHz only, with at least 10 Mbps of upload speed recommended
  • Rated operating range: minus 5°F to 120°F (minus 20.5°C to 48.5°C), weather resistant
  • Install time: about 10 minutes
  • Colours: Speckled Gray, Speckled White and Matte Mocha
  • Warranty: one year limited

Features include live view, two way talk, motion detection with adjustable zones, and compatibility with existing mechanical and digital chimes. Ring does not state battery life on that page.

Simulated 2K view with 6x Enhanced Zoom of a girl holding a box at the door
Photo: Ring

How does it differ from the Plus and Pro?

Tom’s Guide lists four doorbells in the 2nd gen lineup, with US prices: the Battery Doorbell Pro at $249.99 with 4K video, the Battery Doorbell Plus at $179.99 with 2K video, this base Battery Doorbell at $99.99 with 2K video, and the Wired Doorbell at $79.99.

The main difference is the battery. Only the Plus and the Pro have a removable battery that you can recharge without taking the doorbell off the door. The base model’s battery is not removable, so you charge it through the USB-C port. On Amazon.ca, the 2K Plus is listed at C$154.99.

Do you need a subscription?

To review, save and share recorded video, you need a Ring Protect plan, according to Ring. Plans also unlock up to 180 days of video history. Tom’s Guide points out that, unlike Nest, Wyze and Eufy, Ring requires a subscription to save video. The sources we read do not give the monthly price of the plan in Canada, so check it before you buy.

Back of the Ring doorbell showing the USB-C charging port under a rubber cover
Photo: Ring

How much does it cost in Canada and the US?

In Canada, Amazon.ca lists C$79.99 at the time of writing. Ring’s Canadian page showed its prices in US dollars when we checked: US$44.99 on sale, down from US$99.99. It did not show a Canadian dollar price.

In the US, Tom’s Guide gave $99.99 at launch. Related items: Amazon.ca lists the Ring Chime at C$49.99, while Ring’s page lists the Chime (3rd Gen) at US$34.99 and the Solar Charger at US$49.99. Prices can change at any time.

Ring Battery Doorbell 2K in Speckled Gray on a white background
Photo: Ring

Who it suits

Renters. It installs in about 10 minutes and runs on its own battery, so there is no wiring to touch. Ring also sells a No Drill Mount at US$19.99.

Homeowners with doorbell wiring. The doorbell can trickle charge from existing wiring of 8 to 24 VAC, which keeps the battery topped up.

Anyone who wants the easiest battery swap. Look at the Plus instead, since it is the model with a removable battery.

Anyone who does not want a monthly plan. Skip it. Without a Ring Protect plan you cannot save or share video.

Cold climate households. The rated operating range stops at minus 5°F, or minus 20.5°C. Canadian winter nights can go lower than that, so check Ring’s guidance for your area.

What is still unknown?

Ring’s page does not state battery life, and the Canadian dollar list price is not shown there. How long the current sale lasts is also not stated, so the Amazon.ca price may change.

Next step: open the Amazon.ca listing, confirm the colour and price, check the Ring Protect plan price for Canada on Ring’s site, and make sure your home WiFi works on 2.4 GHz at the front door.